Eurasia meets Africa – Tunisia eying Eurasian Economic Community entrance

Tunisia is interested in creating a free economic zone with Russia

MOSCOW, August 11. /TASS/. Tunisia is interested in creating a free economic zone with Russia, and would like to enter the EurAsEC (Eurasian Economic Community), Ambassador to Moscow Ali Goutali told a press conference on Thursday.

“We’re interested in formation of an economic zone with Russia and we would like to cooperate with EurAsEC and join EurAsEC in order to create an economic zone between Tunisia and this union,” he said, adding that “agreements have been reached regarding the issue recently.”

According to Ambassador, the country could fill the vacuum int he area of agricultural products’ supplies that Russia has been facing due to European sanctions, particularly if the two countries agree on formation of a free economic zone.

Also, he said, Russia and Tunisia are in talks over “the issue of direct sea links, which could boost the trade turnover” between the countries. Ali Goutali added that “the links will soon be established.”.

Tunisia is interested in becoming a member of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) in order to boost the trade prospects with the bloc, the country’s Ambassador to Russia Ali Goutali said Thursday, adding that progress on this issue has been made during the last years.

“We are observing the creation of the economic zone with great interest and we want to cooperate with the EEU. We would also like to join the EEU in order to create such economic zone between the union and Tunisia, which would allow us to export our products and, consequently, to import Russian products,” the ambassador said in a statement to Sputnik International newspaper.

“Tunisia can indeed provide and meet the Russian needs in agricultural production, especially if we agree to establish a free economic zone,” Goutali added.

The EEU is an international organization for economic integration launched in 2015, with Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia as its member states.

The Eurasian Economic Union is a sui generis organization which comprises five member states that straddle between the European and Asian continents. It replaced when created on May 29, 2014 with the signing of the Treaty of Astana the former Eurasian Economic Commission.

Greatly inspired by the European Union, it reflects similar structures like the free trade area

which however extends far beyond the Eurasian region and gradually seems to turn to a federal union.

It is currently made up of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia, and should welcome this year Tajikistan.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.